May 20, 2012 Eclipse in Gemini

Are you ready for the eclipses?! I’m going to be honest, I’m not liking this eclipse chart at all. There’s notorious fixed stars all over it and I’m going to have a hard time spinning it in a nice light, and I don’t want to lie about what I see. So brace yourselves. Or don’t even read it, consider yourself warned. I’m being serious. If you scare easily, skip this article — Cozy up with a nice book or do something equally as relaxing, because I’m tense just writing it. I don’t like writing this article at all. It’s taking me a long time to do it because of this, so I’m slacking on other articles I want to write. This article depresses me when I think about it. I’ve debated not even writing it, because it’s so terrible, or even glossing over the negative things I see in the chart, but that would be very inauthentic, and it would also be pretty pointless. Just keep in mind, I’m looking at the chart as a whole, in a more mundane way, so it may not be that bad in your life.

It happens at 0 degrees gemini. It’s a south node eclipse and they’re historically considered less fortunate than a north node eclipse. The south node is considered more malevolent and is very karmic in nature. The nodes by their very nature are karma personified which is why eclipses bring out such huge changes in the world and in people’s lives. For those that don’t know, eclipses are new or full moons with the nodes in close aspect to the moon. That’s a very basic definition, and there’s a bit more to it, but that’s the big difference astrologically (not astronomically). The south node is pretty close in this one with an orb of five degrees.

0 degrees gemini is in the Pleiades which is noted for its malevolent nature, especially concerning world affairs.

Pleiades

The eclipse is happening on the star, Alcyone, which is the brightest star in the bunch. To get an idea how bright it is, compared to the the Sun, it’s 1000 times brighter!

Alcyone is defined as: “They are said to make their natives wanton, ambitious, turbulent, optimistic and peaceful; to give many journeys and voyages, success in agriculture and through active intelligence; and to cause blindness, disgrace and a violent death. Their influence is distinctly evil.”

Alcyone causes love, eminence, blindness from fevers, small pox, and accidents to the face. [Robson*, p.119.]

The Pleiades gives ambition and endeavor, which gives preferment, honor and glory. Not a good omen with regard to relationships to the opposite sex. [Fixed Stars and Their Interpretation, Elsbeth Ebertin, 1928, p.26.]

The Pleiades causes bereavement, mourning, sorrows and tragedies. [The Living Stars, Dr. Eric Morse, p.39.]

“Pleiades with Sun: Throat ailments, chronic catarrh, blindness, bad eyes, injuries to the face, sickness, disgrace, evil disposition (used to be a term in astrology for homosexuality), murderer or murdered, imprisonment, death by pestilence, blows, stabs, shooting, beheading or shipwreck.” [Robson*, p183.]

Pleiades with Moon: “Injuries to the face, sickness, misfortune, wounds, stabs, disgrace, imprisonment, blindness, defective sight.” [Robson*, p183.]

Stabs can mean surgery. So if this degree hits any of your planets or angles in hard aspect: conjunction, square or opposition, then surgery can be possible for you. If you don’t have any hard hits from this eclipse at all or just have easy aspects like sextiles and trines, you may not personally be affected by it, though someone you know may. A lot can be told by looking at which house the eclipse falls. You can refer to my article on the houses to see which areas of your life will be affected by the eclipse.  Here is that article:

https://lillianstar.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/reference-for-houses-in-your-chart/

If it hits a planet or angle it becomes a bit more personal and more complicated. Eclipses don’t have to be bad, but sudden change is often jolting.

It’s also on:

Mirfak Events affecting large numbers of people, especially due to meteorological phenomena. Bold, adventurous, somewhat dishonest.

This eclipse is going to affect you more than others if you have any planets or angles at these degrees: 25-29 taurus, 0-5 gemini, 25-29 scorpio, 0-5 sagittarius, 25-29 leo, 0-5 virgo, 25-29 aquarius, 0-5 pisces.  Make sure you don’t forget to check your progressed chart for these degrees too. What these degrees mean is the eclipse is either conjunct, square, or opposite your angle(s) and/or planet(s). Personal planets are more important here (sun/moon/mercury/venus/mars). The angles are always personal and therefore always important. The angles are AC/DC/IC/MC.

An eclipse to your AC or IC can point to health issues since they’re health houses. You can move with an eclipse on your IC or you can have issues with women or your parents and possibly their health. You can also have career issues since it’s on an axis which includes the MC. Your public standing can be affected in some way.  The AC being hit can show a change in appearance, health, or partnerships. It can show a great change in relationships.

Jupiter is on algol. History has shown that a planet on algol is associated with mass calamities, disgrace, horrible violence and all matters of nastiness. The Holocaust and WWII took place when Saturn was on algol. ‘Nuff said, but that’s more evidence. Remember, I warned you it wouldn’t be pretty.

Algol: “The constellation is indicative of events effecting large numbers of people, especially those events caused by major meteorological phenomena. When prominent in a natal chart it is said to denote adventurous individuals, but also those who are less than honest in their dealings with others.” [Fixed Stars and Judicial Astrology, George Noonan, 1990, p.14.]

“Of the nature of Saturn and Jupiter. It causes misfortune, violence, decapitation, hanging, electrocution and mob violence, and gives a dogged and violent nature that causes death to the native or others. It is the most evil star in the heavens.” [Robson*, p.124.]

“Poor teeth. Brutality and violence. Arabic commanders in chief, in times of conquest, made it a point that no important battles were begun when the light of Algol was weak (Algol is an eclipsing binary – every 68 hours and 49 minutes the demon ‘blinks’ for roughly 8 hours as the dimmer star of the pair passes between the brighter and the earth).” [Fixed Stars and Their Interpretation, Elsbeth Ebertin, 1928, p.24.]

Algol is prominent in event charts of wars, disasters, and it’s one of the ones that usually pop up in murder and missing person event charts. It’s usually associated with high profile stories of violence, especially against women. I warn people to be more cautious when algol is being activated by a planet, because often that’s all that’s needed to stave off the danger.

“It will be will be visible from the Chinese coast, the south of Japan, and the western part of the United States and Canada.GuangzhouTokyo and Albuquerque will be on the central path. Kanarraville, Utah will be a perfect place to view the annular phase. It will be the first central eclipse of the 21st century in the continental USA, and also the first annular eclipse there since the solar eclipse of May 10, 1994 which was also the previous eclipse of this series Solar Saros 128.” (Wikipedia)

These locations may see the most activity from the eclipses. I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention that natural disasters usually coincide with eclipses, and with Jupiter and Mercury on algol, that increases even more. I’m eyeing California very closely for some natural event and the earth influence has me leaning towards an earthquake. The ruler of this eclipse is mercury in an earth sign and conjunct jupiter on algol which explains why I am worried about earthquakes. The eclipse is in an air sign, so tornadoes could be possible. Just to be clear, it doesn’t have to be CA, it could be anywhere, especially the places listed where the eclipse is visible. It’s not a given that it will happen, but I’ve been studying natural disasters and eclipses, and they happen often (if they happen at all) in the locations where the eclipse is visible. A new war starting or terrorism is also possible with these configurations.

With the mercury influence, both being the ruler of the eclipse and the sign of the eclipse, it could be arguments, debates, infrastructure or vehicle issues, and transportation issues instead of natural phenomenon. In the United States, it’s the West Coast and the Mid-West that’s being affected. Let’s hope none of it happens. Either way, this eclipse will be very important to the United States, China, Japan and Canada. For the U.S., I think we’re already seeing effects from this eclipse in regards to gay marriage and the President finally saying publicly that he’s for it. It fits with wordy strife, and in the descriptions of the fixed stars, “evil disposition” was code for ‘homosexuality’ since these definitions originated from many centuries ago. Even Jupiter on algol can fit this, because “female sexuality” was also code for homosexuality.

Venus is retrograde on the date of the eclipse. I haven’t written that article yet, because this one has been depressing me for well over a month. I kept putting off finishing this one, because it’s so dark to write, and I don’t like that. Venus turns retrograde at 24 gemini on May 15th. At the eclipse time, it’s retrograde and at 23 degrees gemini.  It’s on the star, Alnilam: “Brief fame, quick temper, scandal.”

It’s also close to El Nath: “Luck, fortune, success, quarrels, headstrong; weapons of war; point of attack.”

So, I see a lot of quarreling in these descriptions. I also see issues with women due to venus being retrograde, and therefore highlighted in the eclipse chart, not to mention algol on Jupiter and the lord of the eclipse dispositing back to venus. With venus being retrograde, it’s weakened. It makes me wonder about some sort of duality being present in regards to relationships, sexuality and finances. It’s possible that themes of cheating arise because gemini is at its bare bones, the twins: two. Gemini also points to fraud and thievery. With venus being involved we can see another financial scandal like Enron, Madoff, Ponzi Schemes etc. I think the stock market is going to do something really unusual. It could soar or plummet, but I think it will drop because it’s been high and now with venus (banking/finances) retro, I think it will go down. That also fits Jupiter on algol, jupiter on algol is so fraud and greed at any cost.

Venus does make a nice trine to saturn on Spica — finally, a ‘good’ star.

Spica: “Wealth, fame, honour, glamour, the ‘Fortunate One.’ ”  So maybe that trine will save the stock market and we’ll see new records set, but I doubt it, because since venus is retrograde, it can’t perfect the trine, and it’s separating from saturn, showing the gains we already had in the recent past.

“With Saturn: Apt to be suspicious, sharp or rugged, but does much good, occult interests, good speaker, popular, many friends, gain through legacies but extravagant, good health, favorable for domestic matters.” [Robson*, p.212.]

This makes me wonder if people can be bamboozled in love. Venus is in bad shape but in easy aspect to strong and dignified Saturn on spica, who is a smooth talker. In fact, so many facets of this chart point to this: All of the gemini influences show a smooth talker, but one who may be too smooth, like a charlatan. I wonder if it’s Obama? Is he posturing on gay marriage to gain votes, only to flip-flop later? This also validates my concerns about financial fraud on a grand scale, because these attributes describe a con man, a thief, a charlatan.

Finally, we have mars on zosma: “Of the nature of Saturn and Venus. It causes benefit by disgrace, selfishness, egotism, immorality, meanness, melancholy, unhappiness of mind and fear of poison, and gives an unreasonable, shameless and egotistical nature.” [Robson*, p.219.]

Zosma on mars is a very abusive placement. It also can show the qualities I spoke of regarding finance and banking, very Machiavellian actions that could be a problem if exposed. Mars is right on the MC of the eclipse chart so I wonder if the President may have a health issue or need surgery. It could also point to an act of war or terrorism.

I don’t think I’ve ever done a chart where there were so many negative stars and I hope to never have to write about one again. I hope I haven’t emotionally scarred anyone who read this article.

Some famous people with planets being affected by this eclipse:

Adele: Mercury. Conjunction. May have an issue with travel, law, her voice, siblings.*

Cher: Sun. Conjunction. Health issues: Physical or mental, loss of a male, thrust into public somehow.

Mike Tyson: Venus. Conjunction. Change in finances, love and relationships. *

Uma Thurman: MC. Conjunction. Change in career, publicity, marriage issues, parent issues. Venus. Conjunction. Change in relationships, finances, career, marriage, legal issues, siblings, parents. Her health. Transportation issues/local neighborhood issues.

*No time of birth.

Types of issues or people this eclipse affects: Writers, news outlets/media, Public Relations people, newscasters, actors, Mechanics, Car manufacturers/car salesmen, thieves, con men, twins, politicians, transportation, infrastructure, children and young adults, arguments, debates, contracts, musicians, legal documents, law, fraud, lies, smooth talkers.

On May 8, 2012 there was a fire on Whiskey Row in Arizona. There was also a fire there on  July 14, 1900. The eclipse preceding both fires was in gemini. This time at 0 gemini and last time at 6 gemini. I don’t know when it was originally built, but I bet that something in the Event Chart for when Whiskey Row was built has a sensitive spot near those degrees of gemini.

This entry was posted in Eclipses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to May 20, 2012 Eclipse in Gemini

  1. Pingback: Venus Retrograde in Gemini from May 15-June 27, 2012 | The AstroHerbalist, AarTiana

  2. Lisa says:

    I know how you feel, this is a volatile time indeed! I just did a Venus Rx Gemini 2012 post, and I also decided to link this post to it – and I have you on my Astrology Blogroll too! Will you be writing about the partial lunar eclipse on June 4th by chance? I will link that to my post as well!

    Venus Retrograde in Gemini from May 15-June 27, 2012

    • LillianStar says:

      I’m so glad someone else knows how hard it is to have to write about such potentially negative energy. At least I’m not alone.

      I’ll have to read your post! Thanks for linking me to the Blogroll, too!

      I plan on writing about the June 4th eclipse too. Now that I finally finished this one, I can write the venus rx column.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. itisdiana says:

    Hi Lillian,
    I follow you on Twitter, Itisdiana.
    From what I remember an eclipse can be felt some days or weeks before or after?
    I mean, what you wrote stuck with me. I have to admit to re-reading and will again to fully
    get a better understanding, as I am not very familiar with the fixed stars. I just have to re-read things anyhow :)

    This past month, I have heard of 3 women being killed by husbands or ex husbands. One, I’m still not certain on. Two happened just days apart, withing a few miles of one another. I won’t go
    into the details (horrible). We are just 15 days into May! Violence against females in general.

    I have to admit,maybe this is a truly sad and daily thing that I am not aware of. Do, you think this could play into a rise in this sort of thing, do you see a link?

    Thanks,
    –Diana

    • LillianStar says:

      Hi Diana,

      An eclipse can be felt fro about a month before and after the actual date of the eclipse. It also gets sensitized by planets traveling in hard aspect to the degree of the eclipse. I normally will tweet that when it happens or make a post here.

      Sorry it was so technical. I try to make it as easy to read as possible, but astrology is very technical, so it’s difficult.

      Yes, planets on algol usually coincide with violence against women. I’ve noticed that in my research. Plus, with the eclipse representing algol, its even more intensified. Then we have venus (rules women and relationships) going RX today so women are certainly highlighted right now astrologically. I wouldn’t be surprised if the eclipse hit the victims and/or the murderers.

      I’m so sorry you had to deal with such awful things.

      Lillian

  4. anna says:

    this eclipse hits my progressed AC (00** of Gemini). At the moment my progressed AC is in quinqcunx with my natal retrogade Pluto in Scorpio(7th house) and my natal Neptune in Capricorn(9th house). in what way may this affect me?thank you in advance

    • LillianStar says:

      The AC being hit will change things regarding your appearance, health, public image or relationships. Transits are also important in determining this. I can’t say how it will affect you aside from the generalities of that angle being hit because it’s really the whole chart that matters.

      let me know what happens!

      Lillian

  5. mari says:

    I am aquarius born in ny at 1005 am 1/23/63. I watched the eclipse today in az. I am hopeful that good things will happen. In one year I lost my job, my home, my family, my dog. Broke my leg, was blackballed in my career and abamdoned by almost everyone. I see nothing to suggest that such hardship- a nightmare, homeless, broke, on the street for awhile, I worked in medicine. I have applied to law school as I may never work again in the field I loved and am in such debt for. My ex and I reunited and he also deserted me even as a friend. What does this mean, why did this happen? I deserve justice do you see this in my future? Will I work? Will I be alone and never be loved? Will my daughter ever love me agaib? She hates me- I’m a “loser”. I’ve been bullied and persecuted in the most astounding and relentess fashion. Is there hope for me? Thank you- I was so energized and hopeful as I stood facing the sun am I deluded?

    • LillianStar says:

      Pluto has been on your moon for awhile. I don’t have a location, so I used Phoenix, and in that chart moon rules your 5th house of love and children, so that all makes sense. Either way, the moon/pluto is hard and can show up as really draining emotional times. Pluto can show bullying, as can saturn. Saturn has been hitting your mercury by square too. And with this chart, saturn is in your 7th house which can make relationships difficult.

      The next eclipse will be on your venus. It rules your 2nd (if I’m close with location) and may affect your finances — either positively or negatively. I would need to really do your chart to see if there’s any indication of which.

      There’s hope. The eclipses may be good for you like you felt. They cause change which may be just what you need.

      Good luck to you!

  6. visitor says:

    hi Lillian, this is Ryoko, i had you do my charts which was amazing and totally worth it.
    i just noticed that this eclipse happening in my 3rd house, squares my DC which conjuncts N.mars at the cusp of 6th and 7th house, if i am correct… what could this mean?
    and do you mean that if this eclipse happens along with this very bad astro-status
    i will have to live with this up to a year ahead? (because eclipses could affect us up to a year)

    • LillianStar says:

      Hi Ryoko :)

      I remember who you are and thank you for the compliment. I’m glad you liked your reading.

      I usually don’t count the squares to angles so much unless they’re extremely close in orb and with your chart we had a hazy time of birth so that time isn’t carved in stone. If I remember right it was within an hour, no? So it’s safe to say your houses are close since that’s not too much of a window. The third house would affect siblings, transportation, local neighborhood and neighbors, communications and devices.

      I had the eclipse hitting my third house too and both of my PCs died. I lost work and am trying to see if I can get it back. I haven’t been able to do anything really because I’ve been using my phone as internet. It’s been terrible. I hope you didn’t have a similar situation.

      If the eclipse doesn’t make a hard aspect to your planet (conjunction/square/opposition) then it may not affect you very much at all. Off the top of my head I don’t think you had any natal planets at those degrees.

      I hope nothing that happened in your country was too bad. I remember seeing some things in the news recently.

  7. Debbie says:

    I was born on jan 28 76. My boyfriend asked me to go out with him on may 26 -2012. He left me suddenly on 10-24-12. Will he comeback on the next eclipse. My location is newport news va. I dont know my time of birth. Thanks

  8. Debbie says:

    My name is debbie. My ex and i started dating on may 26 2012. We got engaged to be married in aug. He left suddenly on oct 24 2012. Will we reunite on the next eclispe. My dob 1-28-76 his dob 3-31-73. My location is newport news va. I don’t know our birth time. His location is atlanta ga. He was born in cilo, sc. Thanks

Leave a reply, comment or question.